

# Join the Rare Disease Congressional Caucus

The bipartisan and bicameral **Rare Disease Congressional Caucus** is led by Representatives Doris Matsui (D-CA) and Gus Bilirakis (R-FL) and Senators Roger Wicker (R-MS) and Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) to promote awareness of rare disease issues.

**Background:** There are over 10,000 rare disorders that together affect more than 30 million Americans and their families. Rare or orphan diseases are defined as diseases affecting fewer than 200,000 people in the United States. Many rare diseases are considered ultra-rare; some affect fewer than 100 people. Rare diseases include genetic diseases, rare cancers, tropical or neglected diseases, and many pediatric diseases. Many of these diseases are life-threatening and have no treatment options.

The Orphan Drug Act was enacted in 1983 to incentivize pharmaceutical companies to develop therapies for diseases that have relatively small patient populations. Despite the success of the Orphan Drug Act, 93-95% of rare diseases still do not have a treatment approved by the Food and Drug Administration.

The science exists for many of these diseases to be treated; however, treatments may never be developed because of roadblocks in the development process, such as a lack of investment and a challenging regulatory environment. Additionally, while relatively few treatments have been approved, patients struggle with health insurance reimbursement and other coverage barriers that prohibit access to potentially lifesaving treatments.

**Solution:** The Rare Disease Congressional Caucus helps bring public and Congressional awareness to the unique needs of the rare disease community (including patients, physicians, scientists, and industry), and creates opportunities to address barriers to the development of and access to life-altering treatments. The Caucus gives a permanent voice to the rare disease community on Capitol Hill. Working together we can find solutions that transform hope into therapies and cures.

## For more information contact: Vice President of Advocacy, Shannon von Felden at

svonfelden@everylifefoundation.org.

**To join the Caucus contact:** Sen. Klobuchar's office: <u>Ruth\_Mcdonald@klobuchar.senate.gov</u>; Sen. Wicker's office: <u>Kendyl\_Willox@wicker.senate.gov</u>; or Rep. Matsui's office: <u>Jackie.Weinrich@mail.house.gov</u>.

Rare Disease Legislative Advocates (RDLA) is a program of the EveryLife Foundation for Rare Diseases designed to support the advocacy of all rare disease patients and organizations. RDLA is committed to growing the patient advocacy community and working collaboratively, thereby amplifying the patient voice to be heard by local, state, and federal policy makers.

> RARE DISEASE LEGISLATIVE ADVOCATES (A PROGRAM OF THE EVERYLIFE FOUNDATION) 1012 14<sup>th</sup> Street NW, Suite 500, Washington DC 20005 OFFICE: 202-697-RARE (7273) WWW.RAREADVOCATES.ORG @RAREADVOCATES



## Senate Co-Chairs: Senators Roger Wicker (MS) and Amy Klobuchar (MN) House Co-Chairs: Representatives Doris Matsui (CA-7) and Gus Bilirakis (FL-12)

### HOUSE

Mark Amodei NV-2 Jake Auchincloss MA-4 Don Bacon, NE-2 Andy Barr KY-6 Joyce Beatty OH-3 Ami Bera CA-7 Donald Beyer, Jr. VA-8 Stephanie Bice OK-5 Gus Bilirakis\* FL-12 Sanford Bishop, Jr. GA-2 Suzanne Bonamici OR-1 Julia Brownley CA-26 Vern Buchanan FL-16 Ken Calvert CA-42 Salud Carbajal CA-24 Andre Carson IN-7 John Carter TX-31 Sean Casten IL-6 Kathy Castor FL-14 Judy Chu CA-27 Emanuel Cleaver, II MO-5 Ben Cline VA-6 Steve Cohen TN-9 James Comer KY-1 Gerald Connolly VA-11 Jason Crow CO-6 Sharice Davids KS-3 Donald Davis NC-1 Diana DeGette CO-1 Rosa DeLauro CT-3 Suzan DelBene WA-1 Mark DeSaulnier CA-10 Debbie Dingell MI-12 Lloyd Doggett TX-37 Tom Emmer MN-6 **Brian Fitzpatrick PA-8** Lizzie Fletcher TX-7 Mike Flood NE-1 Bill Foster IL-11 John Garamendi CA-3 Josh Gottheimer N-J5 Raul Grijalva AZ-3 Glenn Grothman WI-6 Brett Guthrie KY-2 Kevin Hern OK-1 Jim Himes CT-4 **Richard Hudson NC-8** 

Jared Huffman CA-2 Hank Johnson GA-4 Dusty Johnson SD-AL David P. Joyce OH-14 Marcy Kaptur OH-9 Tom Kean NJ-7 Bill Keating MA-9 Ro Khanna CA-17 Raja Krishnamoorthi IL-8 Darin LaHood IL-18 John Larson CT-1 Bob Latta OH-5 Susie Lee NV-3 Teresa Leger Fernandez NM-3 Mike Levin CA-49 Ted Lieu CA-33 Zoe Lofgren CA-19 Stephen Lynch MA-8 Nancy Mace SC-1 Nicole Malliotakis NY-11 Brian Mast FL-18 Doris Matsui\* CA-6 Michael McCaul TX-10 Morgan McGarvey KY-3 Jim McGovern MA-2 Grace Meng NY-6 Carol Miller WV-1 Mariannette Miller-Meeks IA-2 Barry Moore AL-2 Seth Moulton MA-6 Kevin Mullin CA-15 Jerold Nadler NY-12 Richard Neal MA-1 Joe Neguse CO-2 Donald Norcross NJ-1 Ralph Norman SC-5 Eleanor Holmes Norton DC Frank Pallone NJ-6 Jimmy Panetta CA-20 Chris Pappas NH-1 Scott Peters CA-52 Chellie Pingree ME-1 Mike Quigley IL-5 Jamie Raskin MD-8 Mike Rogers AL-3 Deborah Ross NC-2

David Rouzer NC-7

John Rutherford FL-4 Maria Elvira Salazar FL-27 Mary Gay Scanlon PA-5 Jan Schakowsky IL-9 Brad Schneider IL-10 David Scott GA13 Mikie Sherrill NJ-11 Mike Simpson ID-2 Adam Smith WA-9 Chris Smith NJ-4 Jason Smith MO-8 Lloyd Smucker PA-16 Darren Soto FL-9 Melanie Stansbury NM-1 Brian Steil WI-1 Haley Stevens MI-11 Marilyn Strickland WA-10 Eric Swalwell CA-15 Glenn Thompson PA-5 Rashida Tlaib MI-13 Paul Tonko NY-20 Lori Trahan MA-3 Jeff Van Drew NJ-2 Juan Vargas CA-51 Nydia Velazquez NY-7 Ann Wagner MO-2 Debbie Wasserman-Schultz FL-23 Bonnie Watson Coleman NJ-12 Bruce Westerman AR-4 Joe Wilson SC-2 Robert Wittman VA-1

#### SENATE

John Barrasso WY Lisa Blunt Rochester DE John Boozman AR Maria Cantwell WA Shelley Moore Capito WV Christopher Coons DE Tom Cotton AR Steve Daines MT Charles Grassley IA Ruben Gallego AZ Cindy Hyde-Smith MS John Kennedy LA Andy Kim NJ Angus King ME Amy Klobuchar\* MN James Lankford OK Edward Markey MA Jeff Merkley OR Jerry Moran KS Markwayne Mullin OK Alex Padilla CA Gary Peters MI James Risch ID Elissa Slotkin MI Jeanne Shaheen NH Tina Smith MN Chris Van Hollen MD Raphael Warnock GA Roger Wicker\* MS